Finally! Some Good Mexican Food… In Luxembourg

You remember that I was not impressed with the “authentic” Mexican food we first tried in Paris. And try as we might, Chipotle is not enjoyable either: twice as expensive for half as much food that is definitely French-ified. Read: no spicy, no cumin, no salt… and they put something sweet in the salsa. The nightmares!

Needless to say, this Floridian’s craving for beans and rice had been growing.

Where can we eat that the paparazzi won't find us?

Where can we eat that the paparazzi won’t find us?

As we walked through the Places des Armes in Luxembourg, it became quickly apparent…

Place des Armes

Place des Armes

That one place was pleasing the crowds.

Crowds in Place des Armes

Crowds in Place des Armes

This place.

Chi Chi's? Where have I heard that name before?

Chi Chi’s? Where have I heard that name before?

IMG_1175

IMG_1178

This girl and these kids begged to eat here. I attempted to convince them otherwise – that we didn’t come to Luxembourg to eat Mexican food- but you know. Turns out when you’re wrong, you’re wrong.

I was very wrong.

It was good.

Good job Dave. And I was going to insist on finding some Luxembourgish food. (Yes that is a real word!)

IMG_1174

So Chi-Chi’s = good mexican food in Luxembourg. Who’d a thunk? Anissa mentioned she used to love that restaurant back in the states as a kid, but wasn’t sure what happened to it. What did she mean by that? Did her beloved local Chi-Chi’s shut down? Wait a minute… It’s all coming back to me… CHI-CHI’S!  Bankruptcy! Followed by the largest outbreak of Hep A in US History! Lawsuits, and the DEATHS OF 600  PEOPLE WHO ATE THEIR FOOD!!

AHHHHHHHHH!

We’re ok.

Although I might be blogging less next week because I’ll be at the doctor’s getting some blood work done. Just kidding. I hope. 

Mom, relax. Can I get some more chips?

Mom, relax. Can I get some more chips?

3 responses to “Finally! Some Good Mexican Food… In Luxembourg

  1. Glad you survived it! I go through Mexican food withdrawal if I’m ever in France more than two weeks :) I remember finding a great, very authentic place in the Latin Quarter years ago. No idea if it’s still there, but their salsa was fantastic (the owners were all South American).

    • Being originally from Florida, withdrawal tends to hit us pretty hard! I’ll have to check out the Latin Quarter tip- we go frequently for falafel (although I think now my husband may prefer falafel to mexican, we might not get the chance to try that restaurant!) :-) Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

